The Lost Art of Letter Writing

3

April 22, 2013 by baileybowthorpe

Recently, I’ve been reading the book “All The Best, George Bush: My Life in Letters and Other Writings” which is, as it says in the title, a memoir of George H.W. Bush completely composed of letters and memos he’s written to friends, family, politicians  colleagues, heads of state etc. Pretty incredible stuff. He is an amazing letter writer and has a particular way with words. 

Exhibit A: 

Wouldn’t you agree that there’s something special about getting a letter in the mail?

I’ve been blessed with a wonderful grandma who writes and sends me letters often while I’ve been away from home. It’s so fun to hear from her and get updates on her life. Isn’t it a shame that we don’t write more letters to each other? What we used to write down is now only sent in a text message or occasional email. 

My niece and I are pen pals and send things in the mail to each other every once in a while. That’s also a lot of fun to get little packages from her. Do you have a friend who lives far away? Become their pen pal and correspond through snail-mail. It’s kind of refreshing!

This week, write and mail a letter to someone you haven’t heard from in a while. You may just rekindle a friendship!

3 thoughts on “The Lost Art of Letter Writing

  1. Brynn says:

    Amen! I need to be better at letter-writing for sure.

  2. Bryttin says:

    I used to be a great letter writer. I think it’s a habit. I used to write one every Sunday. I am bringing it back! Look for a note from me…and your pen pal.

  3. aly says:

    Notes can be kept in a drawer and re read over and over again. Something about holding that paper or card … priceless.

Leave a Reply

