Butter vs. Margarine

2

April 16, 2013 by baileybowthorpe

Seeing as this blog all started because of a bowl of popcorn and seeing as while I type this I’m thinking about the popcorn my roommate and I are planning to make for a study snack, let me make one tiny little thing clear:

BUTTER IS BETTER. 

That’s right. Don’t fool yourself with margarine when you want to make a good batch of popcorn. But of course, I’ve already given my bit about “real popcorn” from this post.

I love the creamy taste of butter and how it tastes on…well…pretty much everything. Of course, butter isn’t the best thing for you, but it does add a nice flavor.

Margarine on the other hand…it worries me. First of all, it never goes bad. And it always has a soft texture, even when it’s been in the back of the freezing fridge for weeks. What’s with that?

Those are just my random observations, but don’t take my word for it (did anyone catch that reading rainbow reference?), check out a recent article in the Huffington Post looking at the pros and cons of both. In short, butter is better for baking, but has high cholesterol and saturated fat. Margarine on the other hand is not as good for baking, but (the tub kind) has zero trans fat, cholesterol and low saturated fat. So, I guess if you look at it that way, it’s a win-win. Although I still stand by my original statement that butter is better…especially when said in an english accent:

Seriously, I can’t talk about butter without saying this line from the movie Kate & Leopold.

Margarine or Butter. Which do you prefer? If you can’t decide, bake an experimental batch of chocolate chip cookies…that ALWAYS helps.

2 thoughts on “Butter vs. Margarine

  1. I have recently learned this lesson the hard way. My non-bake cookies using margarine were a complete disaster. They never set up. Always goopy. Butter is certainly the better choice.

  2. aly says:

    I vote for Butter! Infact I come by my butter choice through genetics!…my mom is a TOTAL butter person.

Leave a Reply

