Roses & Thorns

Leave a comment

March 4, 2013 by baileybowthorpe

red_rose

Sometimes, when your friends come around, all you want to do is vent. That’s why I’ve adopted the roses and thorns tradition.

Here’s how it works:

When all of your friends are together (usually involves eating dinner…my roommates and I do it during Sunday dinner), start off the conversation by sharing the “rose” of your day or week.

“My rose is that I finally got to wash my giant stuffed bear at the laundromat this week!”

Then you share your thorn.

“My thorn is that I practically failed my midterm on Thursday.”

From there, just go around the table and have everyone share their rose and thorn. The process is pretty self explanatory but let me tell you, it is therapeutic. TALK to your friends and tell them face to face what’s been going on in your life. It’s a lot better than complaining over Facebook and Twitter.

Roses and Thorns. Try it out.

Leave a Reply

