the good stuff

2

January 29, 2013 by baileybowthorpe

as i’ve mentioned before, my love of popcorn runs in the family. when i was young, every sunday afternoon we would go visit my grammy and grandpa at their house. and every sunday afternoon, my grammy made a big batch of home made, buttery, salty popcorn. that was one of the best parts about going to grammy’s! ever since those days popcorn has become a weekly tradition. my sister bought me my own air popper for high school graduation so i could still have the “good stuff” when i got to college. see, i take this stuff pretty seriously.

i realized that all of my posts have included making popcorn in them. so, if you want the BEST way to make popcorn, here are my grammy’s famous techniques:

-pop one giant bowl of popcorn with your air popper

-then gage how much butter you feel like using. if you have a really big bowl, it’s probably going to take a whole stick although usually 6-7 tablespoons coats a good sized batch of popcorn. (hey, no one said this was going to be healthy…) melt the butter in the microwave.

-pour the melted butter carefully over the popcorn and mix the popcorn around to make sure it all gets coated.

-shake a few good shakes of salt on top (my mom does about 2, grammy does about 5) to taste. then carefully shake popcorn in the bowl up and down until the butter and salt are incorporated.

and that’s it! making popcorn is not rocket science, but making GOOD popcorn (none of this sticking a bag in the microwave stuff–my family affectionately calls that the “fake popcorn”) only takes a little extra time with an air popper, a stick of butter, and a bit of salt.

popcorn is great for movie nights, game nights, snacks, and good conversations. i’ve even known some people in my family (who shall remain nameless) to sneak this delicious “grammy” popcorn into the movie theater in an over-sized purse.

so, if you haven’t had the “real stuff” before, give these grammy techniques a try!

 

 

2 thoughts on “the good stuff

  1. Bryttin says:

    When we go to a movie Jason begs me to make grammy popcorn! It’s the best!

  2. […] of popcorn. But of course, I’ve already given my bit about “real popcorn” from this […]

Leave a Reply

