popcorn is the new cupcake

1

January 13, 2013 by baileybowthorpe

I have never been one that likes to follow a crowd. A mentality that’s both a curse and a blessing. If ‘everyone else’ is doing it–that is no reason that I should do it too. Reading Twilight? NO thanks. “Ugg” boots? By the time I realized those were actually pretty comfortable, they were out of style. Do you remember “pokemon” cards in elementary school? That was a HUGE fad among my classmates. Couldn’t bring myself to start collecting them. Twitter? Hashtags? #whatdoesthatevenmean? I resisted. …for a while, anyway. I guess you could say that by choice, I’ve never been an early adopter of anything.

Maybe it’s the 1/8 hipster in me that thinks as soon as it’s trendy–it’s not quite as cool as it used to be. It’s like when everyone went crazy over self serve frozen yogurt shops. They showed up all over the place. Don’t get me wrong, I love a good fro yo but couldn’t we be a little more creative? Is there really much of a difference between the “Yogurt Stop” and the “Top It!” that are two blocks away from each other?

And then there was the cupcake takeover. Again, let me preface by saying I am a big fan of  cupcakes. But how did they pop us as a GIGANTIC food trend? I mean, there are full on TV shows about cupcakes and cupcake shops. Soon after this takeover, bizarre flavors started to emerge. Bacon? Sweet potato? Grapefruit? Chai? None of those sound like appetizing cupcake ingredients. I don’t know about you, but it’s not often I sit around my house and think–“I would do anything for a grapefruit cupcake right now!” Vanilla? Maybe. But grapefruit? Ick.

Which brings me to my dilemma.  I just finished reading this TIME article stating that popcorn is among the top 10 food trends for 2013. Apparently gourmet popcorn shops are popping up all over the nation! (punny, I know). And here’s a breakthrough–gourmet popcorn is becoming more popular than cupcakes at trendy events and gatherings. These ‘gourmet’ popcorn flavors include everything from cinnamon or cheddar to cheesecake and s’mores.

Alright, so those flavors aren’t much different than the interesting cupcake combinations described above. The fact is, I’ll always be partial to the original buttered and salted. Can I survive my favorite food becoming the ‘in’ treat? 

Let me confess that this food trend might have to be an exception to my unsaid rule. Make way cupcakes, there’s a new snack in the house!

 

What surprisingly good food trends have you tried lately? Pop up a bowl of popcorn and share it with a friend.

One thought on “popcorn is the new cupcake

  1. […] this post I wrote about how gourmet popcorn shops are becoming a thing? Well a few weeks ago while I was […]

Leave a Reply

